The feature failed to activate because a list at PublishingImages already exists in this site

Unable to activate the publishing feature on a SharePoint site collection or at site feature level.

In SharePoint 2010, I had requirement of having some image assets to be provisioned for the site. So I went ahead and created a picture library naming it Images.

After that I had the requirement of publishing feature to be activated both at site collection level and at site level. The publishing feature got activated at the site collection level but was facing issues while activating the publishing feature at the site feature level giving the below error:

 Publishing Images

I tried to search the list with the name “PublishingImages” on the site as well as using SharePoint designer 2010 but couldn’t find it.

After lot of search I found that the folder which I created with the name “Images” was creating the main issues. When I renamed the folder and then tried to turn on the Publishing feature it got successfully activated.

Hope this will resolve the problem..

About Prachi Patil

SharePoint Developer
This entry was posted in SharePoint. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The feature failed to activate because a list at PublishingImages already exists in this site

  1. Peter Ganev says:

    Hey, that’s a good tip! Worked for me 🙂

  2. Gjermund says:

    Thanks a lot that was of great help!
    I had to delete old library which I created manually, called “Pictures” in my local lanuage. Then, it worked out fine when trying to active the publishing feature.

  3. Shae says:

    Bizarre. Worked for me, thank you so much.

  4. Zhang Shaoxing says:

    Thank you very much! Help me to solve the some trouble.

  5. Crazy. It worked 🙂 Thanks!

  6. J Svanborg says:

    First hit on google – this site. And it was correct. Thank You for this post.

Leave a Reply

